Lucky in Zurich

Those who follow the blog, know that I recently had the chance to spend a few days in Zurich for a conference, but also had some free time to explore the city and get a souvenir fabric as I always try to do.

It should be no secret that Switzerland is super expensive and the same goes for fabrics. I had looked up just one fabric shop, because I knew I could not make my colleagues follow me on a fabric hunt and neither would I have been able to afford one in this city.

So the choice was the Bernina store on Talacker street. As the name goes, it is mainly selling Bernina sewing machines and then some fabrics and notions on the side as well.

Image

Image

Image

I would have loved to shop for a sewing machine, but for several reasons I just concentrated on the fabrics 🙂

At first it seemed that I would walk out of there empty handed, because everything was too expensive (average price range in euros was from 25 to 40 euros per meter) and because of the small choice I didn’t see anything that I instantly liked. Until my colleague pointed out a basket of decent sized remnants which were discounted as well.

I got lucky and found a very elastic bright print viscose fabric that has kind of a powdery surface, I love the colours and the feel of it, but it is one of the rare times I did not have a certain style or pattern come up in my mind. I am still not sure, so I am open to any suggestions. I am thinking of something slightly drapey.

ImageImageImage Apart from being super expensive, Zurich was quite fun. A few photos here:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

In addition to all this, while in Zurich, I turned 30!  I am not too thrilled with celebrating birthdays, so it was a quiet one as well. But the German Burda October issue that was waiting for me when I got back to Estonia, was definitely a great birthday surprise!

10 responses to “Lucky in Zurich”

  1. happy birthday and congrats on your work published on magazine 🙂

    1. Thank you! The feature was really the best present this year!

  2. You had nice time in Zurich! Still – Happy Birthday!

  3. Happy belated birthday! I’m turning 30 tomorrow, but not really into big celebrations either.

    It looks like you had a nice time in Zurich, I went to Switserland during the summer and found it quite expensive as well!

    1. Thank you so much! And happy birthday, may all your wishes come true!

  4. Best wishes for your birthday!

  5. Happy Birthday! Ooh, that viscose print is lovely, I wish I could find viscose here. I would suggest maybe a simple dress with an elasticated waist, perhaps like this http://images.lover.ly/40238_alice-olivia-coby-open-back-elastic-waist-dress-1367910116-30.jpg

    1. Thank you for your wishes and the suggestion! I still don´t know what to do with the fabric, but think the print fits spring or summer more, so I have some time to make up my mind!

Leave a comment