Princess Jasmine Pants

This being the longest winter after seven years of living on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea, I could easily switch to summer right now. Instead, we have a wonderful winter weather today here in Estonia, very appropriate for our Independence Day.

And I have completed a pair of summer pants in anticipation of my favourite season in Estonia. I just felt I needed a change in the battle against my Stardust Coat that is still in process, although thankfully it looks promising already.

I hope to make an update on the process in near future, but for now, here are the Princess Jasmine Pants:

Patrones No. 316 pants

httpdisney.wikia.comwikiPrincess_Jasmine

Now that I think of it, it is pretty funny that I made a Wilma Flintsone Dress in summer. Maybe while others draw their inspiration from the latest catwalks, mine subconsciously comes from cartoons?

The pattern is from Patrones No. 316, that I ordered a while ago because of some great jumpsuit patterns this issue contains. But I started with those baggy pants instead, just because I happened to have the suitable fabric in my stash. The fabric is some kind of cotton blend, quite lightweight and at first I thought to make it into a dress.

The pants are low-rise and really baggy, with six decorative metallic buttons in front and 3 at both ankle cuffs. There is an invisible zipper on the left hip and the pattern originally calls for pockets that I omitted. The pattern is model No 10 in Patrones No 316:

Patrones pants 316

Patrones 316 bombacho pants

Patrones bombacho pants

As I was cutting the pieces out, I realized that it was impossible to cut the legs in one piece because of the amount of fabric I had. After a lot of brainstorming I decided I can live with horizontal seams on the backside of the pant legs. In the end I even topstitched the connecting seams with pink thread to pretend that it was intentional. This gave me the idea to topstitch in the first place. I was thinking to use the traditional thick orange thread used for  jeans topstitching but then changed my mind and went with a bit unconventional pink.

Patrones pants bombacho

P1120980

P1120981

I love the buttons I found, although the twelve of them cost me more than the fabric and other notions together! They come in silver as well and you will probably see the silver version on a certain coat soon 😉

Patrones bombacho pants

P1120971

P1120986

I am quite proud of lining the sides up so well, but not so proud of the pink zipper slightly showing, although it is invisible. I just couldn’t resist using a pink zipper as I wanted the zipper pull to add to the pink topstitching. With a good ironing though, the zipper shows much less, so I am going to keep it as it is.

P1120987

It is marked as “costura facil”, meaning it is an easy pattern to sew and I quite agree. The reason why it took me longer than it should have, is that I used bias tape (pink!) to finish all the seam allowances and lately I only sew in the weekends.

As with my Patrones shorts, the fit is very good, I cut Patrones size 42 and I didn’t have to make any major alterations to the pattern. Although I don’t exactly feel like a princess in them, I think I will enjoy wearing these easygoing pants very much this summer!

As nearly all my summer shoes are still in Athens, I have no shoes to show you today!  However, I don’t think I would match these pants with high heels as modeled in Patrones mag.

Happy sewing and Happy Independence Day to all Estonians!

12 responses to “Princess Jasmine Pants”

  1. The pants fit you perfectly, you made such a clean and professional job. Liked all the details and the buttons are awesome.

    1. Thank you so much! I also love the buttons!

  2. Hi , the pants are very nice and i find that they fit als very good. I want to try also a pair of pants from Patrones 322, but I am afraid because of the size. I make always size 36 from Burda and they fit perfect always, I am thinking to go with size 40 from Patrones, can you please give me an advice. By the way I am still in love with that pair of shorts you`ve made out Patrones , a little obssesing acutally and I might give them a try :).
    Thank you, and I love your blog! xx

    1. Thank you for your sweet comment! If you are Burda 36 then I would suggest sewing size 40 from Patrones, just like you think. I am normally Burda 38 and Patrones 42 is my size. Lucky you, you don’t have to trace the pattern between two sizes! Good luck with the project!

  3. How fun! These are so cute and look very professional!

  4. They are gorgeous ! Your choice of fabric, pink thread and lovely buttons is perfect. Seriously, the pants in the magazine look dead boring compared to yours !

    1. Thank you so much for your nice comment!

  5. Hi
    Where can i buy this pattern it’s beautiful!?
    Love Anne 🙂

    1. Dear Anne,

      It is from Patrones No 316. I ordered mine from sewingpatterns.eu, but apparently this issue has been sold out by now. Maybe you can try eBay?

      All the best!

Leave a comment