RSS Feed

Colour Blast Dress

I hope every one of you have had wonderful holidays so far! With only a few days left until the end of 2013, I am posting somewhat of a conclusion of the year together with the last finished project.

The year 2013 has been life-changing for me. My engagement ended in a separation in spring, and just before the end of the year I got promoted at work. I also traveled to six different countries this year, the first trip being in May, which actually makes six countries in six months! In addition I met a bunch of new people plus some totally unexpected old acquaintances have reappeared in my life.

Sewing-wise, the highlight of the year was definitely being published in Burda German October edition.

I hope the new year will be as colourful as this one was, hopefully with better luck in personal matters, though :)

Here is the dress I made for our traditional Christmas party with the colleagues:

Image

DSC_0597

The pattern is Burda 06/2013, model 110, the photos are from burdastyle.com:

Image

110_technical_large

As you can see, my version has short sleeves, mainly because I didn’t have enough fabric but also because the dress is loud enough already.

The fabric is from the work trip to Zurich in September and when buying it, I didn’t have a clear vision of what to make of it. It is very elastic and there was also only one piece left so I was very limited in my options. But in my opinion, the crazy colour explosion and elasticity of the fabric demanded ruching and this is the reason why I picked this particular pattern.

I cut my regular size 38, and didn’t need to make any alterations. The pattern is quick and easy, the only difficult thing was that I was sewing it step by step for a few hours after work within a few days and got pretty tired.

I cannot say it is my favourite dress, but I am pleased that I managed to sew it up on time for the event and found a way to use the rather complicated fabric.

DSC_0587

The Christmas party itself was a lot of fun. It took place at an old manor and nearly everyone from our hospital was there, 100 people out of 120. We had a live band, tasty food and also danced a bit.

For me the event was also special, because in addition to my own dress, there were another two dresses made by me! Because we had a professional photographer taking the photos, I will have a photo of all the three dresses together to show in January.

I have already shown the one made for my dear colleague Kadi and here is the other one for Mari:

DSC_0582

DSC_0581 (1)

DSC_0577

DSC_0583

The pattern I used is the same as for my Paisley Dress, Burda 7739, view B. Because the main fabric is a rather thin cotton that I thought would start clinging to the body, I fully lined the dress.

I hope all of you had a year that brings a smile to your face when you think back to it and that the new one would be even better! Happy holidays!

6 responses »

  1. Wonderful! Have a great 2014!

    Reply
  2. Wow… amazing dress on you! Color, cut, and the putting together of it. I LOVE it!

    Reply
  3. Wonderful! It’s a great pleasure to enjoy a party with friends and with so many dresses sewn by showing you there. You are great! Love your dress, definitely a great fit. Happy New Year, dear friend

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The cockroach effect

...of life, love and unexpected wonders

Fehr Trade

How many dresses are too many?

Gjeometry

Sewing from all angles

JuliaBobbin

How many dresses are too many?

Green apples

my crafty adventures

the curious kiwi

Happily immersed in sewing nerdyness…

Jazz Couture

How many dresses are too many?

Yellow Mae

welcome

honigdesign

How many dresses are too many?

How many dresses are too many?

SewTawdry

How many dresses are too many?

Miss Celie's Pants

I sew. I cook. I travel. But, I do not clean.

Fehr Trade

How many dresses are too many?

Erica B.'s - D.I.Y. Style!

How many dresses are too many?

Amanda's Adventures in Sewing

How many dresses are too many?

The Selfish Seamstress

Because I only want to sew stuff if it's for me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

